my life at 49.. does it get better?
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
age 49...Really???
age 49 Really?? i thought things were suppost to get better with age?? ive worked for 30 something years and worked hard. ive never had a problem finding a job EVER it was all so simple back then. you wanted more money or you didnt like your current job what did you do? you purchased a new paper (usually sundays or wednesdays thats when all the new listings when in) you went to the want adds..only after you read the funny pages cause you alway need to laugh first lol then you took you favorite pen and note pad and you started.... you found the add that was most appealing to you .. you picked up the phone dialed the number and said "hi im calling about the job listed in the paper" the person on the other line would say "can you come in for a interview?" you would pick a day and write it in your note book with the phone number and address and some quick directions on how to get there.. the day of the interview you got all dressed up in what was known as your "interview outfit" ... on the interview you were given an application which you filled out and sat and waited for the boss... at the end of the interview you were usually told "when can you start?" or "im still interviewing can i get back to you?" which in my mind said you didnt get the job if they said the last one .. but however if they said "can i get back to you" thats when my persistants kicked in .. i would call the next day around 4 in the afternoon and ask about the position and everyday after until i heard from someone. now.. how easy was that??? TODAY...you need a well written resume and some even have your picture on it.. a computer (which requires more money for the internet service) and the whole process is just one big waiting game.. no wonder the world is the way it is.. you dont get dressed up .. your at your computer filling out apps in your underware and a cup of coffee and most times no one ever contacts you back to even let you know they recieved your resume.. and you wait and wait then yayyyy... you get a call!!!.. they ask you to come in for interview.. you get there they give you a application to fill out and they want your resume too along with references im sorry doesnt the resume have all that info?? AND 25 pages of questions that ask the same thing in a differnt ways.. then some guy comes in and askes you alot of questions non of which pertains to the job however .. then your done and back to the waiting game!! does anyone else see this as unproductive??? and let alone want it does to your self esteam!!! so again im 49 and Really?? im still looking for a job....... ive filled out over 50 applications and still nothing .. what is this world coming too? i thought in this day and age that computers were suppost to make everything simple and fast.. well to me maybe somethings but not looking for work!! a computer just slows the whole process down!! maybe there should be a law that if you post a job via the internet then you also need to list it in the new paper as well. i want the old ways back........
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)